Cape George Colony Club



Click here to view the information packet for this meeting


Cape George Colony Club

Regular Board of Trustees Meeting Agenda

July 28, 2022, 3:00 P.M.

Via Zoom

A.  President’s Comments and Announcements – Jane Ludwig

  1. There will be an Executive Session at the end of this meeting to discuss member violations and personnel matters.

B.  Action on Minutes – Pat Gulick

  1. Approve minutes of the regular Board Meeting dated June 23, 2022.
  2. Approve minutes of Special Board of Trustees Meeting dated July 16, 2022  

C.  Manager’s Report – Marnie Levy


D.  Treasurer’s Report – Fayla Schwartz


E.  New Members – Pat Gulick


F.  Committee Reports


G.  Information items or documents submitted to the Trustees at Study Session – none


H.  Member Participation:

NOTICE:  The President will ask members that have called into the Zoom Meeting that are listening to the Board Meeting to come forward with any questions, comments, compliments, or concerns.  We encourage and wish to promote member participation with the following stipulations: Each member may speak once on any given topic until every member that wishes to speak has done so.  Each member may have one rebuttal with a 2-minute time limit on the same topic.  If another topic is raised the same procedure will follow.  Note:  The Board of Trustees will not hear or discuss owner violations or owner account issues.  They must be addressed in a separate hearing.


I.  New Business Agenda Items (Consider approval of the following listed agenda items)

       1.  Accept/reject motion to accept the resignation of Joel Janetski from the board – John Dwyer

       2.  Announcement of new Trustee Mike Heckinger – Jane Ludwig

       3.  Accept/reject motion to appoint the four new officers and general manager as signers on Pacific Premier Bank, Chase Bank and Kitsap Bank accounts, and to remove any previous signers from the accounts.  Current officers:  Jane Ludwig, President; John Dwyer, Vice President; Patricia Gulick, Secretary; Fayla Schwartz, Treasurer and Martha Woodward, General Manager. – Fayla Schwartz

       4.  Accept/reject motion that the Board of Trustees accept the following Committee Board liaisons – Fayla Schwartz

  • Building and Roads Committee:  Betsy Coddington and John Dwyer
  • Emergency Preparedness Committee: Jane Ludwig
  • Election Committee: Pat Gulick
  • Environmental Committee:   Pat Gulick
  • Fitness Committee: Betsy Coddington
  • Finance Committee:  Fayla Schwartz and Bart Mooyman-Beck
  • Harbormaster:  Mike Heckinger
  • Marina Committee:  Mike Heckinger
  • Nominating Committee: Jane Ludwig
  • Pool Committee:  Jane Ludwig
  • Water Committee: Bart Mooyman-Beck
  • Workshop Committee:  John Dwyer

       5. Accept/Reject motion to authorize payment of the following additional insurance premiums – Fayla Schwartz

  • Directors and Officers Insurance:  $7959
  • Umbrella Liability $976
  • Auto Insurance:  $2833.69
  • Volunteer Coverage $300

       6.  Accept/Reject motion that the Marina liaison confers with said committee to pursue replacing the current light on the flag with something less bright and to install appropriate lighting for the channel entering the Marina – Pat Gulick 

       7.  Accept/Reject motion to combine the Security and Technology Ad-hoc Committees – Bart Mooyman-Beck

       8.  Accept/Reject motion to accept the resignation of Mardella Rowland from the chair position of the Fitness Committee – John Dwyer

       9.  Accept/Reject motion to accept the following changes to the 2022-2023 board calendar – Fayla Schwartz

  • Budget meeting will be scheduled for Monday Oct. 17, 2022
  • November Study Session will be scheduled for Nov. 14, 2022 and November Board Meeting for Nov. 17, 2022.
  • February Study Session will be scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2023 and February Board Meeting for Friday, Feb. 24, 2023.

      10. Accept/Reject motion to accept the appointment of Nancy Charpentier as Chair of the Finance Committee, effective July 31, 2022 – Fayla Schwartz

      11. Accept/Reject motion to accept the appointment of Karen Krug to be the Cape George contact with Newman CPA Auditing Firm until the completion of the 2021 audit – Fayla Schwartz

      12. Accept/Reject motion to approve the request of due date adjustment from a community member – John Dwyer

      13. Accept/Reject motion to approve the appointment of Christine Buzzard as co-chair of the Environmental Committee – Pat Gulick

      14. Accept/Reject motion to accept the proposed and published changes to FIN 08 – Fayla Schwartz

      15. Accept/Reject motion to accept the recommended members of the village mailbox committee – Betsy Coddington


J.  Open Board Discussion – Trustee Discussion Only


K.  Executive Session


L.  Announcements:

  • Study Session – Monday, August 22, 2022, at 3 p.m. via Zoom
  • Board meeting – Thursday, August 25, 2022 at 3 p.m. via Zoom

M.  Adjournment